PDA

View Full Version : hi there.

redboi
03-03-2010, 02:21 AM
Hello,

i'm extremely new to the modeling/sculpting world. ive only attempted a head once, and i did it all wrong [although it doesnt look as bad as it should], so i started researching how to do GK the right way and stumbled upon this site, which im very happy about. its such a fountain of knowledge, so ill be sure to read as many threads as possible. anyways, im an illustrator/student and i have... no knowledge as to how to make a figure, but ill try hard anyways. :] its fun, and i think thats all that matters. i do have one question though, if anybody knows,

i was using sculpey, and bulking up a figure was difficult because when i boiled it, curls fell off the head, so i researched some videos and came across this one:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hn8SOxhAloM&feature=PlayList&p=72F1648AC68F3372&index=21
at the time 1:47 and past that.

my question is the putty being placed on top of the silicone, what exactly is it? is it in fact putty, or..something else. unfortunately i do not speak japanese, but if anyone knows visually, or actually understands it, itd be awesome if they could let me know. n.n;; sorry if that question didnt belong there... im not positive.:p

secretasianman
03-03-2010, 10:00 AM
Judging by the mixing and the application, It looks like a polyester putty

(adequate ventilation cannot be stressed enough!!!!) :dizzy:

Shintocowboy
03-03-2010, 10:26 AM
Hmmm....I watched that video when I first started. That got me into using Bondo auto-repair materials to make my scratch build. It's pretty toxic stuff and not to easy to work with.

As for the stuff on the tape, its expensive, and they offer materials that do the same thing but are much cheaper.

If you are using Sculpy, this link will be of help.
http://scat.80code.com/kat/ciela/efigure.htm

Masa
03-03-2010, 10:39 AM