PDA

View Full Version : And so it begins...

Xelizarios-Prime
03-13-2011, 03:17 PM
I was going to wait another week until I got another table to sculpt at. But I'm using my drawing desk for this first project. And I'm probably nuts for trying to sculpt something "hard" on my first try. But I'm attempting to sculpt one of my own original characters. It's a catgirl character I draw a lot - I call her Mychelle Blackwood.

I'm posting some artwork for a reference and what I've done on the sculpt so far. This is my first attempt EVER to sculpt a figure.

This is one of my drawings of the character. I had a running joke with her for over 2 years of every single picture I drew of her she was naked. I've got a weird sense of humor.

Anyways, here's the sculpt so far. I've had the hardest time with the buttocks on the torso- and I'm dreading the face, hands, feet, fingers, and toes. I am not sure if I should try to make individual "strands" of hair, and the fingers and toes seperate- not sure how well the clay will hold up in the baking process.

I am using Sculpey III clay for this.

I have made a little progress since these pictures, so far so good but I feel like the big challenges are yet ahead.

Feel free to comment.

devone23
03-13-2011, 09:08 PM
Good start. Be sure to take your time with the shapes, like the roundness of the breasts and buttocks.

Xelizarios-Prime
03-13-2011, 11:48 PM
Good start. Be sure to take your time with the shapes, like the roundness of the breasts and buttocks.

Thanks.

I ran into a lot of problems along the way. I think for a first project i bit off more than I can chew. I had a difficult time making a large figure stay on it's knees. I didn't do fingers or toes. I figure this was practice -- first try. I hope I'll do a better figure of her down the road.