PDA

View Full Version : Advise on airbrush...

CheedoWan
02-25-2006, 01:31 PM
Hi guys ! :lol:

I'm really new to this garage kit business, I used to build and paint war hammer 40K miniatures, but I have always had the curiosity to start building this kind of kits. I have bought almost everything I think I'll need to get started; the only thing left for me to buy is the airbrush. I have been doing some research and in almost every forum or site, people say that the Iwata Eclipse HP-CS is a good choice for starters, so I found this auction in ebay, and I was wondering if you guys could give me some advice, is the combo any good for this kind of work ?? :wacko: here is the link:

http://cgi.ebay.com/IWATA-HP-CS-ECLIPSE-AIRBRUSH-COMPRESSOR-KIT-AIR-BRUSH_W0QQitemZ8262141101QQcategoryZ28111QQrdZ1QQc mdZViewItem

There is also this one for the HP-C I really not sure about the differences between them:

http://cgi.ebay.com/IWATA-HP-C-PLUS-AIRBRUSH-w-Quiet-Auto-On-Off-COMPRESSOR_W0QQitemZ8262795858QQcategoryZ28111QQrd Z1QQcmdZViewItem

Or maybe anyone here knows a better deal in some other site ;) , I'll gladly listen to any suggestions and advise. Well that’s all for the moment, thanks and bye ! :D

redrage
02-25-2006, 02:26 PM
You can't go wrong with an Iwata HP-CS; it's an excellent choice for figure painting. Those two kits look like they have everything you need to get started but you may want to think about it a little more before you commit to either because you may be able to do better than the compressor they are packaging.

The topic of "Which compressor do I need?" is an age old one and unforunately it can be a little difficult to answer since it's not a one size fits all type of question.

I don't need a silent compressor so a mini-compressor that would drive a nail gun or brad nailer would be a better choice for me. (actually I use a 5hp auto-body type compressor with 1/4" NPT quick releases. Works great for me but may not be what you need)