PDA

View Full Version : Tips or suggestions?

Taugan
08-30-2006, 04:43 PM
My first two resin models will be here within a week (I hope - note to all - don't buy from a guy called HobbyWarrior on Ebay - 2 weeks with no sign of my kits - then they are broken, so he has to find different ones, then he ships them with the longest air carrier possible, etc, etc...).

I was wondering a few things. With the plastic models I used to make you had to prime them before you paint them. Do you still prime resin models? If there are chips or broken pieces - is the model lost - or can you fix it somehow? Sanding and that sort of thing? What kind of sand paper? Sorry that I'm a complete newb at this. lol.

Any tips or suggestions for a new modeler would be appreciated. Thanks.

Taugan

Arieanna
08-30-2006, 06:04 PM
My first two resin models will be here within a week (I hope - note to all - don't buy from a guy called HobbyWarrior on Ebay - 2 weeks with no sign of my kits - then they are broken, so he has to find different ones, then he ships them with the longest air carrier possible, etc, etc...).

I was wondering a few things. With the plastic models I used to make you had to prime them before you paint them. Do you still prime resin models? If there are chips or broken pieces - is the model lost - or can you fix it somehow? Sanding and that sort of thing? What kind of sand paper? Sorry that I'm a complete newb at this. lol.

Any tips or suggestions for a new modeler would be appreciated. Thanks.

Taugan

I've heard lots of problems with Hobbywarrior. Best bet is to avoid them from now on. Most recasts I've seen had their share of flaws and problems. especially if they are done from typical thai resin. it's much heavier and a lot more brittle than good resin.

Masa sells some pretty nice originals for great prices next tie you're in the market ;)