PDA

View Full Version : Total newbie

Nia's Husbando
10-06-2008, 06:26 AM
Hi! I've been lurking for a while and I decided that I should finally present myself. Some info about me: I'm 22 years old, I work as an artist, here I'm hoping that my poor knowledge about anatomy will come in handy when trying to sculpt.
I'm really interested in getting into sculpting my own figures, but I'm completely lost as to where should I start and everything I should be buying to start. If someone could point me in the right direction I'd be really thankful.

Dr.H
10-06-2008, 04:52 PM
Welcome to GKJ ;) Don't mind the mess as were under a bit of construction at the moment lol.

Feel free to ask anything you want. I'm sure some of our sculptors will respond to your questions shortly.

Arieanna
10-06-2008, 10:09 PM
Hey welcome aboard from another interested in the sculpting aspect ;)

Just a quick hi for now. It's been a long day at work so I'm calling it a night early, but I'll try to make time to pop on tomorrow and give you my personal input on things. I'm sure some others will add theirs as well :)

Masa
10-06-2008, 11:18 PM
Welcome to the forum! Hope you enjoy your stay! ::thumb

Nia's Husbando
10-08-2008, 04:09 PM
Thanks for the welcome! yeah, I'll keep looking around for now :p. I have to get some money first before I can start buying the materials, but I'm looking forward to starting and sharing my progress on the board.

blade_runner
10-09-2008, 11:10 AM
Some basic stuff that's cheap:

Aluminum wire that you can pick up at a local hardware store for making armatures. Heavier gauge stuff works better as you can flatten parts of it with pliers to hold the clay better.

Go to an art supply store and pick up Crayola's Air Dry Clay http://www.crayola.com/canwehelp/products/AirDryClay/index.cfm

This stuff is a little brittle, but very easy to work with and holds on to armatures well.